Recipes

Sweet Potato Brownie *Attempt*

Ok I understand the thought of a sweet potato brownie isn’t the most pleasant of ideas however after giving these a try last weekend I have to admit they are soooo good! The last batch I made I went a bit crazy with the cacao so they were super rich but this worked for me as it meant I didn’t need much to satisfy my sweet cravings!

The reason I put attempt in the title is because unlike every fitness instagrammer out there I cannot seem to get anything I bake to look like the pictures. I have mastered the art of delicious protein pancakes (read my blog/recipe here) but still to this day cannot get them to look pleasant enough to upload a pic so I’m secretly praying I get lucky today..no promises though!

Recipe for Sweet potato brownies (Makes 6)

  • 1 large sweet potatoe (mine weighed in at 280g pre cook)
  •  125g of pure nut butter (I used 100% peanut butter)
  • 60g Cacoa powder (can use cocoa as alternative)

To sweeten – Now this is up to person preference, I’ve tried this mix with both honey, golden syrup and sweetener and I find honey works best for me (add 2 tablespoons of your choice when mixing to sweeten) but this is more of a trial and error scenario depending on how much of a sweet tooth you are/how healthy you want to be!

Instructions

1 – Preheat the oven to 180 degrees, coat a 4×6 or 6×6 cake tin/pan with some fry light/coconut oil

2 – Cook the sweet potato, remove the skins and mash

3 – Add the sweet potato, cacao and peanut butter to a food processor or blender and mix until this is completely blended together

4 – Empty the brownie mix into the cake tin and bake for 15-18 minutes (check the brownies consistency with a fork to ensure the brownies are cooked)

5 – Allow to cook and then enjoy!!!! These will last around 5 days if refrigerated and can be frozen to enjoy later!

Some people have suggested frosting the brownies if they are not sweet enough for your personal taste however I find these perfect just how they are, any sweeter and I’d eat to many!

Here are my not so ready for Instagram brownies (this made me quite a big batch but I only cut a few up though I did think the heart shapes made them look super cute!)

img_6930

Did anyone manage to create the perfect instagram brownie? Are you now lovers of this strange concoction or will you be sticking to regular brownies for now?! Get in touch and let me know in the comments below!

Paige

Leave a Reply

