Blog, Review

Fitbit Charge 2 Review

I’ve been toying with the idea of buying a Fitbit for a while now, it seems like every gym class I’ve been to recently is full of people that seem to fixate on their wrists, monitoring every step they take and seeing how many calories they’ve burnt so it’s fair to say I wanted to know what all the fuss was about! I’d like to say that my lovely boyfriend used his own initive and brought me my lovely new Fitbit for Valentines Day after months of hints and not that he felt bad about the lovely new Fitbit I brought him for Valentines and brought me one to make up for it! Either way I’ve ended up with a fab new arm piece and it’s safe to say I’m addicted!

Fitbit Charge 2 Features

One of the main features I like about the Fitbit Charge 2 is that it’s touchscreen and has quite a large screen unlike some of the others which are just bands. I really like the fact I can see how many steps I’ve done, what the time is, my heart rate etc without having to look on the app all the time! Another main feature is the fact that you can receive text and call notifications, this is fab when I’m away from my phone (which is rare il admit) although the constant vibrations can be ever so slightly annoying! Some other features of the Fitbit Charge 2 include;

  • Monitors hours of sleep and restlessness (you can also arrange a sleep notification)
  • Monitors heart rate – both resting and working
  • Counts calorie intake
  • Offers breathing exercises (these are great before bed as they make me super sleepy)
  • Tracks exercises such as – running, cycling, weight training plus many more
  •  Notifies when you receive a call/text or get a calendar reminder

One thing I have noticed since having my Fitbit is the amount of motivation it gives me to try and get my steps each day, for anyone who isn’t familiar with Fitbit, the app allows you to chose a daily goal of steps that are then monitored. I chose 10,000 steps which I believe is the average however due to having a desk job I have found it difficult to reach this each day. I do however  find myself checking how many steps I’ve done throughout the day and wanting to do more to try and reach my daily goal, so for those as easy to engage as me it’s definitely a positive factor to having one!

Overall I think the Fitbit Charge 2 is good value for money for anyone who’s already quite active or for those looking to increase fitness activity. I know they can be pretty expensive, mine retails for £139.99 however I have seen a large variety of models on CEX, EBay and Amazon so it’s easy to pick one up for much less second hand, they also offer a range of other styles starting from about £50 brand new so they do cater for all budgets!

Do any of you have a Fitbit or another Fitness monitor? How have you found it? Let me know in the comments below!

Paige x

 

 

Leave a Reply

